Small Cars at Costco

       I went shopping at Costco last week.  The drill is always the same.  I plan to go in for a “few” items, which should only take a “few” minutes.  Well, this never happens but I like to try and fool myself into thinking that someday it will.  The few minutes always turns into at least an hour.  The few items double or triple by the time I get to the checkout.  That is why I would really like to know what you buy when you go to Costco in a small car.

   I buy cereal,  coffee, meat, and breads on every trip.  There are other necessities that get added at times such as toilet paper, juice, cleaning products, aspirin, soap, etc…  Then there are the items that you didn’t know about before you walked into the store.  Here you can find clothing, a CD, a book (even though I already have about 10 unread at home), something for the house, or something seasonal.  I’m not an impulsive shopper, but sometimes those deals are too good to let go.    

  Most items are large, bulky, and heavy.  The toilet paper alone, all 48 rolls, can take up half the cargo space in the car.  Other items can weigh a ton.  I wonder how I got that herniated disk.  In any case, you need space in your vehicle to be a serious shopper at Costco.

   So I wonder how one manages with a small car.  Maybe they are only going in to use the pharmacy.  Maybe they live close by and go more often.  Maybe they are creative in making it all fit.  Here’s a thought.  Maybe they just buy a “few” items.  Much as I would like to believe it, I don’t think that day will ever come for me at Costco.

1 thought on “Small Cars at Costco

  1. I’ve often wondered the same thing. When we go, we tend to fill up our truck to the point where you can barely see out the window. It is at this point, when we are overloading our vehicle, that my husband and I always mention how we could never downsize in vehicles.

Leave a comment